Imo: PDP voter apathy sees APC clear rerun elections

Imo rerun election hit by low turnout as Imolites protest Supreme Court judgment.

Sunday, January 26, 2020

/ by National Pivot

The recent Supreme Court judgment nullifying the election of Emeka Ihedioha as governor of Imo State, in last year's gubernatorial election, is still having a toll on Imolites who have been on the streets in protest against the Apex Court's controversial judgment.

Perhaps, in a show of disapproval of the nation's electoral and judicial processes, many Imolites, presumably PDP voters, failed to show up in the recent constituency rerun election held in the State, leaving the APC to claim comfortable victory.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), declared Marian Onuoha of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of last Saturday’s rerun election in Isiala Mbano/Okigwe/Onuimo Federal Constituency.

The election which was largely marred by low turnout of voters, saw Onuoha of the APC defeat her Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) counterpart, Obinna Onwubariri with 23,690 votes, to 10,010 votes.

In the result releases by the Resident Electoral Commissioner, Prof. Francis Chukwuemeka Ezeonu, the number of registered voters were 200,684 while 38,244 were accredited voters Total number of votes cast in the poll were 135,198; rejected votes were 815, while the total number of Percentage turnout was 19.06%.

“At the end of the poll, APC (Marian Odinaka Onuoha) scored 23,690 votes, PDP (Onwubuariri Obinna Kingsley) scored 10,010 votes, while APGA (Onyeiwu Uchenna Ubah) came 3rd with 263 votes.

“28 number of political parties contested the election. Margin of lead between first and second position is 13,680. At the end, Mrs Marian Odinaka Onuoha of APC was declared elected,” INEC’s REC said.

Stay informed, not appeased. Follow our page below.

Don't Miss

Copyright © 2019. All rights reserved. By Critical Media Group.